top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrennan Boudreau

Cookie Craze (and Praise)

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

I've inherited a substantial sweet tooth from my grandpa; one of his trademark lines was, "I'd eat dirt if it had sugar on it," and while I may not be that much of a sugar junkie, I can still eat my weight in just about any dessert or candy. Now, I know this blog is about healthy vegan food, but I feel as if I would be doing my readers a disservice by not including one of my favorite vegan sweets.


Let me begin by saying having a massive sweet tooth and being vegan can be challenging—a lot of the time I have to revert to the vegan staple and grab a pack of Oreos (a BIG win for the vegan community), but every so often I'll splurge on Ben and Jerry's dairy-free ice cream. However, if I'm feeling really indulgent, I'll order from Appalachia Cookie Company.


Y'all. This place has got it goin' on. I've tried their regular cookies before I was vegan and while the chocolate chip and molasses are killer, they're no match for the Yosef, even with the aid of their tasty animal byproducts.


The Yosef is App. Cookie Co.’s vegan and gluten-free cookie (they also have a vegan/gluten-free chocolate chip option, which is a close second.) The first time I tried it, I sincerely thought someone had given me the wrong one, it’s that good. The Yosef is a little bit of heaven in a big cookie. Made with pecans, apples, vegan chocolate chips, coconut, oats, and cinnamon, the Yosef comes together to form my favorite vegan dessert, even above the ones I’ve had at actual vegan restaurants. If you’ve ever sneered at this cookie because of its vegan/gluten-free status, I beg you to re-evaluate and of course, try it.



16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

LDOC

bottom of page